Jailbreakers! Stay away from iOS 6 update until further notice

by Zaib Ali on September 19, 2012

iOS 6 is now available for download for all supported iOS devices and if you have a compatible device then you can easily upgrade to the latest version for free. However those of you who jailbreak iOS for in order to install Cydia tweaks, apps, and other jailbreak stuff need to stay away from this new update until further notice from iOS hackers. Famed hacker MuscleNerd has already warned iOS users from upgrading to latest version of iOS as after updating they will immediately loose the jailbreak or unlock of their device. Users are advised to stay on iOS 5.1.1 until jailbreakers find a way to hack it. According to several hackers Apple has closed the loophole in iOS 6 that made iOS 5.1.1 untethered jailbreak possible, so if you are thinking to jailbreak iOS 6 using old version of RedSn0w, think again. MuscleNerd notes in a tweet that those users who have saved the SHSH blobs of their iOS devices in iOS 5.1.1 will be able to ‘re-restore’ to 5.1.1 at will.

We will update you as more details regarding the iOS 6.0 jailbreak are made available, until then hold your nerves and restrain yourself from upgrading to iOS 6.0.

Update: iPhone Dev-Team has posted useful information regarding iOS 6.0 to iOS 5.1.1 downgrade and more. Here’s the breakdown:

  1. A4 devices and 3GS will always be downgradable (and jailbreakable) due to limera1n.  The tethered iOS6 jailbreak for those devices (and untethered for old-bootrom 3GS) will be out when Cydia and other important pieces are all working properly
  2. iPad2 owners who have both 4.x blobs and 5.x blobs will always be able to downgrade to those versions, even once you come up to 6.0 and the 5.1.1 window closes (don’t do that yet though!).  You need both 4.x and 5.x blobs to qualify for the downgrade even if you only wish to downgrade to 5.x
  3. iPad3, i4S (and iPad2 owners who don’t satisfy #2) will always be able to RE-restore the current 5.x OS that’s already on their device.  So if you’re at 5.1.1 when the window closes (and you’ve saved your blobs), you’ll always be able to RE-restore to 5.1.1 again.  This makes the 5.1.1 jailbreak a lot less fragile — you don’t have to worry about messing up your install with funky extensions or getting into a boot loop, because you can always RE-restore from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1 again (or from 5.0.1 to 5.0.1 again, etc).  But once you fall off the 5.x train by restoring to 6.x, you’ll be stuck there until the next jailbreak.
0saves
If you enjoyed this post then share it and tell us what you think by leaving a comment below.
Share

Previous post:

Next post: