Good practices to lock your Mac and maintain security between users

If you are concerned about the security of your Mac when you lock it. Below we are going to show you several options to protect your data, differentiating between putting the device to sleep and locking it, and other options related to the unlock password.

Although both processes seem similar, they nevertheless have different security implications that deserve specific mention in each case. These methods serve as a good practice to lock down your Mac and maintain security between users.

Locking MacBook vs putting it to sleep, what's the difference?

By locking your Mac, you activate a layer of security that requires authentication to access again, either through a password, TouchID on MacBook Pro models with Touch Bar, or with an Apple Watch. Instead, putting your Mac to sleep simply stops operations without necessarily activating these security measures. To guarantee a total lockit is important to previously configure a password in the Mac System Settings.

Setting a lock password on Mac

To set a lock password on your Mac at System Settings – Screen Lock. Here, you will find the option to add a password, which you can adjust according to your needs. With this setting, your Mac will require authentication after going to sleep or displaying the screen saver, providing an additional layer of security for your device.

Methods to lock your Mac

For MacBook owners, the easiest way to lock the device is closing the lid, which causes the Mac to go to sleep and, when reopened, requests authentication. However, there are also other methods.

  • Use the Apple menu: Selecting the “Sleep” option from the Apple menu immediately takes your Mac to a screen that requires a password to unlock, unless you are using an Apple Watch and have set up automatic unlock with the watch.
  • Keyboard shortcuts: Users with newer versions of macOS can choose to “Lock Screen” from the Apple menu or use the shortcut Command+Control+Q. On older operating systems, the combination Control+Shift+Power button (or Eject, for Macs with an optical drive).
  • Quick user change: This feature allows you to quickly switch between user accounts or return to the login window to lock your Mac. To activate it, go to System Settings and choose how you want it to display in the menu bar.

Lock your Mac the traditional way

Whether out of caution or the need to protect sensitive information you are storing on your Mac, knowing the different ways to lock and put your Mac to sleep is a must for any user who wants to master and get the most out of the device.

From simple actions such as closing the lid of your MacBook to more advanced ways in System Settings, the options are varied and adapt to the needs of each user. In the end, making sure your Mac is protected will not only help safeguard your personal data, but it also gives you peace of mind knowing that all your important data is safe.