The arrival of iOS 17 has brought with it a lot of new features that go beyond aesthetics and the main interface. We also have them in terms of security, such as Sensitive Content that we bring you today in this post. That is why if you want to know more in depth what it is about, how you can activate it and how it can be configured, here we are going to explain it to you step by step.
In order to improve the browsing experience, while making it as safe as possible, iPS 17 has a new function called Sensitive Content. To avoid seeing, at first, certain images or videos that contain explicit nudity, the iPhone or iPad will block this content, notifying us in the first instance that it is material of this type. Additionally, as additional information, Apple does not have access to any of these photos or videos that are sent.
This functionality, however, is still in its early days, and therefore, it is also important that you know that it will not be available in all the applications that we have installed on the iPhone or iPad. So we are also going to explain where the operation is applied, once the option is already activated.
This is how the Sensitive Content Notice function is activated
Once we have the latest version of iOS 17 installed, the first thing we will do is go to Settings > Privacy. In this category, a multitude of options and tools will appear. But we have to look at the one called Sensitive Content Notice, which is located right after the Security Check option. You have to go to the bottom of this menu to find it.
By default, this will be disabled. So if we want to start it, we will have to click on it. When we do this, we will have some options, the first of which is to activate this tool with the switch. When we have done this, a drop-down menu will appear with several options.
The first thing that will appear just below is the View security resources button. In this section we are going to have a list with tips to know how to act when we receive a nude photo or explicit material in a non-consensual manner.
The next thing that will appear are the applications in which this option has access to visual protection. As we have said before, this is a functionality that is in its early days, so it will only work for us (at least, for now) in the following sites:
- Everything we receive through AirDrop
- Contacts app
- The content we receive through the Messages application (whether MMS or iMessage)
- Video messages that we receive on FaceTime, when we cannot answer a call
The last thing that appears is the option to help improve this tool. If we give access to it, we will be sharing the analysis data with Apple, but we will not be sharing photos from third parties, nor what we have been able to send, if we have done so.