Apple said in a press release on Thursday that iOS 16.1, the newest version of its iPhone operating system, will be released to the public on Monday.
It is coming out for iPhone 8 and later users, and it includes a lot of capabilities that were not there in iOS 16’s first release in September. With the release of iOS 16.1, subscribers to Apple Fitness+ on an iPhone will be able to use the service regardless of whether or not they own an Apple Watch.
iOS 16.1 Has Interesting Features
Fitness+ is a monthly or annual subscription service for $9.99 or $79.99 that includes guided workouts and meditations. If you buy a new iPhone, iPad, or Apple TV from Apple, you will get three months of Fitness+ at no cost.
You will not be able to track your progress in terms of calories burned or current heart rate while using Fitness+ unless you also use an Apple Watch. Clean Energy Charging will also be available with the iOS 16.1 release. Apple claims that this will allow customers to maximize charging during times when greener energy sources are available, thereby reducing the carbon footprint of your iPhone.
In Settings > Battery > Battery Health & Charging, you will find the option to switch to Clean Energy Charging. According to Apple, “In your region, iPhone will aim to lessen your carbon footprint by preferentially charging when lower carbon emission electricity is available,” which is part of the Clean Energy Charging feature. In order to ensure that your iPhone is fully charged before you need to use it, it will learn your charging habits over time. Instead of just sharing photos in an album, iOS 16.1 will allow you to make an entire iCloud Shared Photo Library.
As a result, you can create a shared photo or video library with up to five other individuals, or six people in total, and do things like add, delete, edit, or favorite items.
There will be a new switch in the Camera app that lets users select to automatically upload their images to the cloud storage. If you are on a group vacation and shooting pictures at the beach, everyone can take images and view each other’s in the shared album if you enable this setting.