What is isolation mode? A service that your iPhone has and that few people know about

Despite having our iPhone For a long time now, there are always new things that we are discovering little by little, and I am sure that this is one of them that you didn't even know existed, and that has a very specific, although important, use.

It would be about isolation modea function that we can activate on special occasions and that will protect all our data and information in case of a cyber attack or dangerous situation. Let's see it.

What is isolation mode?

As I said, this mode is a function that all iPhones have to protect your phone in case you believe you have suffered a cyber attack, or in a situation where you believe your data may be compromised, and is important.

Apple emphasizes that it is very rare for this to happen, and it is likely that if you are a normal user, no one is going to try to make these types of threats to you, however, it is not bad for us to know.

When isolation mode is activated, the device does not operate as it normally does. To reduce the surface area that could be attacked by highly customized mercenary spyware, certain applications, websites and features are strictly limited for security reasons, and some experiences may not be available at all.

This means that you will be able to continue using your phone once activated, however, you will not be able to perform many of the normal actions, which are restricted as a security measure.

To be able to try it you must have a version of iOS 16 or higher, and you will only have to perform the following steps from your iPhone:

  1. Open the app Settings.
  2. Click on Privacy & Security.
  3. Scroll down, tap Isolation mode, then tap Activate isolation mode.

Activate isolation mode

Once activated you will begin to be more secure, although no method is foolproof, so we recommend that you take additional measures, such as creating a copy of your important data in an external location, and deleting data from the vulnerable device.

This method does not automatically delete or block any service or data that we cannot recover later, which is why if you want to try it, no problem. You will just have to follow the steps, activate it, and see how it works. You can deactivate it at any time you want.

Likewise, you can also configure certain services in a personalized way, that is, if, for example, you know that a web page is trustworthy, you can mark it and exclude it from protection, being able to access it without problems. Likewise with other services.

ios password security

If you need to know more information or configuration options, the Apple website explains it in much more detail, as well as the limits that your iPhone will have when activating it.

And you, did you know about this function? Do you think it is really useful for a user like you or me? The truth is that it seems a bit exaggerated to me, although it never hurts to know about it, one day it may be useful to us. What do you think? Leave us a comment with your opinion about it.