A list of members who left a WhatsApp group conversation in the previous 60 days may soon be visible to all users in that chat.
On its beta software upgrades, WhatsApp is always testing and adding new features, some of which modify how group chats operate. The 512-member group size limit and the ability for users to exit WhatsApp groups discreetly are just two of the many things that the Meta-owned instant messaging platform has been trying. Currently, Facebook is apparently developing a feature that allows users of group chats to view every member of the group who has departed in the preceding 60 days.
The function was found by WaBetaInfo in the beta for iOS 18.104.22.168.
Past Participants Will Be Visible To Other WhatsApp Group Members
All group members will be able to see if someone left the group over the last 60 days from the time they are checking, even if the beta rolls out a wider deployment for the functionality allowing users to quit groups discreetly without informing other users. A user’s name will be erased from the list of previous participants 60 days after they leave a group. WhatsApp tested a feature earlier this month that allows users to erase messages they have sent up to two days and twelve hours after they have been delivered. Messages may only now be deleted “for everyone” one hour after they are sent.
Prior to then, the instant messaging service had started testing “Voice Status,” which allowed users to record a brief audio remark and publish it on their Status tab, similar to how WhatsApp conversations allowed users to submit voice notes. The “stories” feature featured on other platforms such As Instagram and Snapchat is the WhatsApp app’s equivalent.